http://www.paytonturner.com/
http://flatvernacular.com/

Payton Turner was an artist I heard about when Alessandra Torres came to speak to the class about MICA. She was born in New York, New York and attended MICA as well, graduating with a BFA in 2008. She is currently living in Brooklyn where she has a wallpaper design company called Flat Vernacular. The wallpaper she sells is all comprised of her original designs and have a very fun and wimsical feel and are a combination of fine art and design.
The company specializes in original hand-drawn, printedn, and painted wall papers, and I really like the bright colors and the incorporation of patterns, often made from smaller images. Something really cool and personal about her business is that Payton works individually with clients and customs designs wallpapers in order to bring them exactly what they want. Making art this personal is so exciting to me, and It would be so cool to have my art literally covering the walls in someone's home.
Payton's style is generally feminine and a little quirky, and I feel that it really combines fun and sophisticated well, which is something I attempt to do in my own work. There is a wide variety of pieces that range from simplistic and sophisticated with more muted and soft colors such as her wallpaper called "Beau Monde - Smart Set" to bright and busy pieces that seem chaotic yet organized like in "Flora -Lacquered Garden" and "Too Much Stuff". I really like the incorporation of pattern and design and it definitely has inspired my work for the future. The flowery wallpapers like "Sketchbook Garden - Stylus" in part inspired my most recent piece, and I really found her use of repeated images to create a pattern, like in "Eyelets- Peer" very interesting and something I wanted to explore further in my own work. I feel that her patterns relate to my use of lace and it would be really cool to turn my work into something useful like she did with wallpaper.




Leave a Reply.

    Cara Salyers

    Senior at Deep Run High School. Student. Cheerleader. Artist.