Summer Work Artist Statement

Essentially I wanted to do art that just reflected my personality and the qualities I most possess. That is why I started with pink and just went from there. Pink is my favorite color, but more importantly it expresses the bubbly feminine personality I possess and is the iconic color of femininity. I added the lace aspects to give the soft graceful feel of being womanly and poised. This with the bright colors of pinks and purples gives the strong bubbly side and the soft sweet side of being a girl. By adding the layers of lace and spray paint it is showing the many layers that each individual female possesses. Starting out, my art was all about pink and being girly with the female figures and more juvenile appearance, but now I am going to transition to a more sophisticated feel with the same bright colors and lace but with a more classy and mature feel.

Summer Work Self Evaluation

 9.13.12

Intelligence
Originally my work just started out as making something pink and girly. Through this summer work I wanted to hone my skills and develop a more precise method and more sophisticated idea for my work. I wanted to focus on different aspects of femininity, including the bright, happy innocence, and also the more sophisticated and classic side of being a woman. I use the lace patterns to further push the feminine feel in a subtle way. My work consists of many layers and a variety of colors because there is more to being a girl than what is on the surface and there are multiple layers each a little bit different that make each girl individually herself.
Investment
I went to Lowes to buy all the wood for my panels and had my dad help me cut them so I could make my own panels. I invested a lot of time in making them myself because it actually ends up being less expensive than buying panels, it is just more work. I also spent a lot of time making all of my stencils on photoshop then got them all printed at Kinkos. I also put a lot of time into cutting all the stencils and spraying the multiple layers.  I definitely think I put time and effort into creating these works.
Difficulty
In the beginning my difficulty came mostly from deciding what kind of images I wanted to make in the spray paint style I’ve been developing for myself, but a lot of my challenges with these works came from the actual process of spray painting. A lot of my paints were getting low and the spray paint would drip and cause the stencils to leak and have weird blotches. This made me realize that I need to be more patient and careful and also get new paints that aren’t running low so my work can be of an even better quality.
Self Evaluation
I would give myself and A for this assignment knowing the time I spent planning, photoshopping the stencils, getting all the materials and the time it took me to actually make all three pieces. I think this work is a good improvement and step forward from my previous work and deserves a grade reflective of effort and improvement.



Leave a Reply.

    Cara Salyers

    Senior at Deep Run High School. Student. Cheerleader. Artist.