http://www.sallybowring.com/

One artist I have recently studied is Sally Bowring. She is a modern artist who words with stenciling and and pattern and I found her work very interesting and relatable to the techniques I have recently been studying. A lot of her work is very light and and fun, and I really like her colors and the way she incorporates patterns using reverse stenciling methods.
The process she uses is comprised of many layers in which she combines metallic enamels and acrylic paint, as well as spray solvents that she uses in spray bottles. She creates her images by masking, stenciling, digging, and exposes certain areas to make the work feel very layered and dimensional. It almost makes the images and patterns feel like they are coming from within the painting rather than on top of it. That was very interesting to me and a concept I want to work towards incorporating in my pieces. Most of work is also a square composition, which inspired me to want to work more in square pieces as well because it all relates better and seems more consistent.
Sally's work mimics domestic behavior through the processes she uses to create is and references some important things to her, including concern for order, selection and beauty, cycles, unpredictability, things seen and hidden, and the repitition of life. I like that her work is often metaphorical as well as obvious. In her most recent series there are very obvious references to gardens and the home, but she also works to parallel the pace of painting and and the significant of the home to an individual.
One thing she said that I really related to as an artist was "the paintings are to be experienced and enjoyed, that is all." She feels that paintings don't need an explanation and they are just to be enjoyed by the viewer and interpreted in their own way. That quote really stuck with me because I feel the same way about my work. I just want people to look at it and enjoy it, and I want it to bring them a pleasant feeling.



Leave a Reply.

    Cara Salyers

    Senior at Deep Run High School. Student. Cheerleader. Artist.