My most recent work has gone through a lot of changes. I originially tried experimenting with wax to add another element to my art, however, I was very unsatisfied and had a hard time straying away from my typical "pretty" work. I ended up removing the wax and doing a solid stencil like my typical work and I find it much more appealing.

Feed back from my peers on this work and the incorporation of wax was more positive than how I saw it myself. I think it was a positive step forward in experiementing but the execution itself was not what I had hoped. One of the biggest suggestions was to continue to try to incorporate wax, but perhaps different types or colors. I definitely agree and intend to keep experiementing with it my future works.

This piece was sort of a transitional piece for me, moving away from iconic female images to a less literal subject matter and incorporating new media. The flower is in full bloom and in a way represents my personal blooming as an artist and attempting to step out of my comfort zone, even if I wasn't entire successful with that in this piece. It has given me some ideas for my next pieces and is a move in a good direction.



Leave a Reply.

    Cara Salyers

    Senior at Deep Run High School. Student. Cheerleader. Artist.